in memory of my Nanu.

11 Jul

It’s been a rough couple weeks.  My grandfather (fondly referred to by those who knew him as “Nanu”) passed away.  He went peacefully, surrounded by all of his loved ones.  I still can’t believe he’s gone.  It’s a surreal feeling.

But I have to keep reminding myself that we’re lucky to have had such a super grandpa, one whose memory we’ll always cherish and whose way of life we’ll attempt to emulate.

We held a memorial service in his honor on Friday morning, at which his seven grandkids (myself included) shared their favorite memories of Nanu.

My bit went like this:

I have so many memories of Nanu.  

  • The fondness with which he referred to me as Tina, his pet name for me.  
  • The way his eyes lit up when he told the story of how I always wanted to go “bhar bhar” (“out out”) as a kid – even in those cold New York winters.  
  • The sound of his voice as I – and anyone else – entered the house through the garage – “Kaun?” (“Who’s there?”).  
  • The smile on his face when he could smell my brownies baking in the oven. 
  • The 16 almonds that I put in a bowl every morning – 8 for him; 8 for Nani (my grandma and the love of his life). 
  • The pride with which he wore the Yale Grandpa sweats that I brought home for him after having graduated from college.  
  • The way he stroked his chin whilst sitting on his designated “throne” in our family room – in search of stray hairs that Kuki Uncle may have missed upon shaving Nanu.
  • The enthusiasm with which he watched and recited the day’s breaking news via CNN.  
  • His lifelong dream of winning the lotto and distributing $1 million to each of his grandkids.  

And, most memorable of all, each week, when his lucky numbers didn’t size up, Nanu would remind us that WE – his 7 grandkids (which, after 2 marriages, has become 9) + 3 daughters + 3 sons – WE were his lotto.  

Nanu, we love you and we miss you.

2 Responses to “in memory of my Nanu.”

  1. Karishma July 15, 2011 at 2:23 am #

    I’m so sorry for your family. I lost my dad to cancer two years ago and miss him every day. I hope your family finds peace in happy memories.

  2. Smile, Nod and Blog August 8, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    can’t tell you how much your message means. thank you so much.

    not a day goes by that i don’t think of and miss my Nanu. but you’re right, it’s important to focus on the happy, the warm, the fuzzy. =)

    thank you again – from the bottom of my heart.

Leave a Reply

